2023Media releases

Alberta Blue Cross® announces Community Wellbeing grant program recipients

By October 27, 2023January 2nd, 2024No Comments

Alberta Blue Cross has just awarded $150,000 to 75 outstanding community volunteers across the province and the charitable organizations they serve through its new Community Wellbeing grant program. The program was launched in May 2023 as part of Alberta Blue Cross’s celebration of its 75th anniversary, with the intent to recognize exceptional volunteers who support the wellbeing of their communities. 

More than 250 nominations were received for the program, with 75 volunteers receiving $1,000 each in recognition of their contributions to promoting community wellbeing—an additional $1,000 awarded to each of the 75 charitable or non-profit organizations with which they volunteer.

“We want to thank everyone who took the time to submit nominations recognizing these volunteers who make amazing contributions to their local communities,” says Brian Geislinger, vice-president of Corporate Relations and Community Engagement with Alberta Blue Cross. “As Alberta Blue Cross celebrates our 75th anniversary and a legacy of giving back to our communities, we’re excited to recognize the inspiring individuals and organizations who go the extra mile to make such a positive difference.”

Funding for the program comes from Alberta Blue Cross’s community foundation.

As Alberta’s leading benefit provider, Alberta Blue Cross provides coverage to more than 1.8 million Albertans and administers a wide range of plans for employers and individuals as well as government program sponsors. And as a champion for wellbeing, Alberta Blue Cross leads and supports a wide range of initiatives across the province to promote wellness and active living.

Congratulations to all the recipients!


  • Merv Graham, Greater Forest Lawn 55+ Society
  • Alex Duica, Helping Families Handle Cancer Foundation
  • Robin Strathdee, Hospice Calgary Society
  • Jane Miller, Leftovers Foundation
  • Linda O’Hanlon, Mount Pleasant Community Association (MPCA)
  • Shayne Kuzek, Rotary Park Lawn Bowls
  • Mindy Ages, Street Sisters Society
  • William Lamptey, The Church of Pentecost Canada – Calgary Food Bank
  • Melanie Harris, Veterans Association Food Bank
  • Cyril (Terry) DeFreitas, YMCA Calgary

Central Alberta

  • Priscilla Carlick, Alberta Beach and District Museum and Archives Society
  • Louise Krewusik, Big Horn Golden Age Club
  • Brigitte Lacroix, B.R.I.D.G.E.S. The Hinton Housing and Employment Society
  • Lonnie Stewardson, Devon Dolphins Swim Club
  • Erin Colucci, Edmonton Adaptive Sports Association
  • Lesley Crawford, Friends of the Spruce Grove Public Library
  • Sieger Siderius, Leduc & District Food Bank
  • Zolton Libra, Leduc Regional Housing Foundation (LRHF)
  • Sharon Cornelius, Light Up Your Life Tri-Community Palliative Hospice Care Society
  • Diane Brookman, The Fort Saskatchewan Food Gatherers Society
  • Trisha Vyse, Tri Legion Pay Forward Kindness Society
  • Monica Cappis, WEE Food Bank
  • Elda Strome, Westlock Golden Age Senior Citizen’s Drop-In-Center


  • Terence Rudge, Alzheimer Society of Alberta and Northwest Territories
  • Sheung Chung Chiu, ASSIST Community Services Centre
  • Jason Yeung, Canadian Mental Health Association – Edmonton
  • Daniel Cole, CapitalCare Grandview
  • Carl Woloschuk, CapitalCare Lynnwood
  • Greg Laskey, Chrysalis: An Alberta Society for Citizens with Disabilities
  • Sundas Shamshad, Compassion House Foundation
  • Punch Jackson, Edmonton and Alberta Men’s Shed Associations
  • Cameron Reid, Edmonton Epilepsy Association
  • Kaleb Litschel, Edmonton Father’s House
  • Vincent Campbell, Edmonton Meals on Wheels (EMOW)
  • Nellie Wong, Edmonton’s Food Bank
  • Aliya Rota, Health Arts Society of Alberta
  • Lorraine Haggerty, iHuman Youth Society
  • Ron Ferguson, Mill Woods Seniors Association
  • Gord Riggs, Operation Friendship Seniors Society
  • Donna Coble, Sage Seniors Association
  • Tracy Pham, Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton
  • Orysia Boychuk, Ukrainian Canadian Congress – Alberta Provincial Council (UCC-APC)
  • Cameron Reid, United Way of the Alberta Capital Region
  • Michelle Aberant, Youth Empowerment & Support Services

Fort McMurray

  • Corinna Pitzel-O’Hanley, Autism Society of the RMWB
  • Tina Black, Fort McKay Women’s Association (Operating as Fort McKay Wellness Center)

Grande Prairie

  • Corrie Funk, Swan City Football Club – Power Soccer Program


  • Chad Chief Moon, Lethbridge Sport Council
  • Darlene Fitz-Gerald, Darlene Fitz-Gerald
  • Dallas Sleightholm, Nord-Bridge Senior Citizens Association
  • Krysty Thomas, United Way Lethbridge & South Western Alberta Society

Medicine Hat

  • Heidi Mitchell, Unison at Veiner Centre (Kerby Assembly)

Northern Alberta

  • Krystal Zahara, Athabasca Cares Community Housing Society
  • Bernadette Wlad, Central Peace Health Complex Hospital Auxiliary
  • Brooke Vining, Cold Lake Pride
  • Carla Day, Gordondale Community Club
  • Eugene Lebas, Kisdport – Lac La Biche Chapter
  • Louise Beatch, Lac La Biche Royal Purple Number 309
  • Jeremy McCracken, North Peace Youth Support Association o/a Ignite
  • Elizabeth Boyle, Wild Rose Community Connections

Red Deer

  • Marlyne Adams, The Lending Cupboard Society of Alberta

Southern Alberta

  • Devonna Nagy, City of Chestermere
  • Aline Garant, Cochrane Search and Rescue Association
  • Berverly Jestin, Fort Macleod Public Library Society
  • Theron Black, Honouring Traditions and Reconciliation Society
  • Katie Dunn, Hope 4 MVC Kids Society
  • Daniel Gascon, Kneehill Adult Learning Society & Newcomer Support Services
  • Chelan Barnes, Nanton Quality of Life Foundation
  • Jennifer Pick, North Rocky View Community Links
  • Jaide Kee, Prospect Human Services
  • Melvin Oerlemans, Redcliff Senior Citizen Society
  • Dan Sarty, The Den, SYC (Sundre Youth Centre)
  • Diane Cammaert, Wheatland & Area Hospice Society
  • Brandy Hebbes, Wheatland Society of the Arts (WSA

The full list of recipients is also available here: https://community.ab.bluecross.ca/programs/community-wellbeing-program-recipients.php. For more information about the Community Wellbeing grant program, visit the Alberta Blue Cross website at https://community.ab.bluecross.ca/programs/community-wellbeing-grant-program.php.

This media release was shared as a news story on

Grand Prairie Herald Tribune – on Blue Cross® wellbeing winner: Grande Prairie’s swan city football club.

For more information, please contact Sheena Moore, communications officer, Corporate Communications, Alberta Blue Cross, at shmoore@ab.bluecross.ca.

Download PDF version